There are two different ways you can cancel a workflow:

  • Cancel an in-progress workflow
  • Add a cancel workflow event task to cancel a workflow that proceeds down a particular path/branch

Cancel an In-Progress Workflow

To cancel an in-progress workflow, you need to be an admin of the group that owns the workflow.

  1. If you’re not in the main OnTask Dashboard, click the “Dashboard” icon in the upper-right of the screen.
  2. In the left sidebar, click the workflow name.
  3. Locate the in-progress workflow instance you want to cancel and select it.
  4. Click the “more” icon () to the far right.
  5. The icon will change to x. Click the x to cancel the workflow.
  6. Click REMOVE WORKFLOW in the confirmation dialog box.
  7. You’ll now be able to view this canceled workflow on the CANCELED tab of the Dashboard.

Add a Cancel Workflow Event Task

In a branched workflow, you may want to cancel a workflow that takes a particular path. For example, if a vacation request is rejected, you might send an email to the originator, and then have the workflow proceed to a cancel workflow step.

  1. In the workflow template Designer, click the + below the last step of the branch that will lead to canceling the workflow.
  2. Choose Event Task, then Cancel Workflow.
  3. In the right panel, you can modify the default task name, Cancel Workflow. It’s a good idea to make your branch name descriptive and meaningful so that when workflows using this template are in progress, it’s easy to distinguish the current workflow step.
  4. In a running workflow, if that path is taken, the workflow instance will be canceled and will appear on the CANCELED tab of the Dashboard.